I got into college at 15 and then left one semester later(here's what happened)

At 15, I was in the top 0.01% in the US to get into an honors college with a full scholarship.

My alumni went to Harvard, MIT, and Stanford...

But I dropped out after one semester with perfect grades.

Here's what happened(and why I left):

I've loved learning since I was little. I wanted to be a researcher and study the world ever since I watched my first documentary. Little did I know that path wasn’t quite as it seemed...

At the start, I liked the competition and higher standards of college. But soon I realized the programs offered were not aligned with what I wanted with my life, so I left. But that's not the only reason I left... Here are some the lies that I discovered university sells you:

“College = Equals Education” Education and college are synonymous in most vocabularies. This may have been more true at a point, but with the internet, this couldn’t be further from the truth.

While at College, I rarely learned from my professor:

  • Chemistry from Youtube

  • Pre-Calculus From Youtube

They say you're getting an education, but instead, you're getting something far more sinister…

You're not learning how to think. You’re learning what to think. This causes groupthink and inhibits you from thinking for yourself. I experienced this firsthand in my college writing class...

In my class, we spent much time discussing:

  • Hierarchies

  • Oppression

  • Societal issues

I realized although I disagreed with much of what was being taught it would be a risk to my grade to share my ideas...

One time I tried sharing my truthful ideas in a paper. And I got points off with no clear feedback on my end of what was wrong with my writing. But this next one is one of the biggest lies college sells you...

“Degree = Money”

When I talk to my friends, they are under the assumption that the best way to make money is:

1. Go to college

2. Spend years getting a degree

3. Get a High Paying Job However, this is a lie…

Not only do you have to go into debt, but it’s also unlikely that you get a good job.

If you get a Doctoral, you make 100k a year.

But if you're trading your time for money, you can't have a life of freedom.

Not only will it be hard to get a good job, but if you do get one, AI will likely replace it.

The reason?


“Specialization = Prestige”

Intelligence is equated with skill in a specific field.

People may be incredibly talented at one thing, such as science.

But...

University doesn’t teach you to live a good life.

It teaches you to do a specific profession for the rest of your days.

I didn't want to be just a scientist.

I wanted to have the freedom to explore life and college wouldn't let me do that.

I would go as far as to say that...

“Specialization is Glorified Stupidity.”

In the pursuit of being good at one thing.

You sacrifice being good at other areas of your life.

The reason?

1) Programming

We have been programmed since we were young with a blueprint of the good life.

  • Go to school

  • Get a high-paying job

  • Work until retirement

That’s it.

Going to college is the only way to live the supposed "good life."

2) Illusion of Security > Adventure + Freedom

This is partially to blame for people's regret at the end of their lives.

Most these days want security...

The final straw for me to leave was when I realized the opportunity cost of staying in college.

With the online business space evolving rapidly, I had no idea where it would be in 4 years.

I didn't want to miss this once-in-a-lifetime opportunity... Since I watched my first Minecraft video, I have wanted to be a creator. And I wasn't going to put off this dream any longer...

When I left members of my family worried: • I would socially suffer • I would regret my decision • I was wasting an opportunity And at some points, they were right...

I was lucky my parents trusted me with this opportunity. But when I left the structure that school had once provided, I fell into despair and failed to pursue my dreams.

Here's what happened 7 months later:

  • Learned Many Skills

  • Made Amazing Friends

  • Reached 950 followers

  • Made my first dollar online

  • Made $700 in the last month

  • Learned from people making six figures a month for free

All because I left college to pursue self-education and build a creator business

Recap:

Lies they sell you:

“College = Education”

“Degree = Job”

“Specialization = Prestige”

Reasons people follow this path:

1) Programming

2) Illusion of Security > Adventure + Freedom

If you're still considering college, read this...

You can likely learn the same things online for a fraction of the price. If you're going a traditional job like:

  • Doctor

  • Lawyer

  • Accountant

College makes more sense.

But I’d ask you…

Why do you want to do that job?

What aspects of that job excite you?

Can I find those aspects in a pursuit that gives more freedom and creates more impact? If you're still going to university, you should self-educate and never lose your love for learning.

Before you go...

That’s all,

Christian